Skip to main content
You have permission to edit this article.


  • Updated
  • 0

Guilford County has had 42 sheriffs since the first, William Moore, took office in 1771. Here is a list of Guilford sheriffs in the past century. 1888-1890: Joseph A. Hoskins 1890-1894: John W. Cook 1894-1898: Joseph A. Hoskins 1989-1900: Joel Henry Gilmer 1900-1906: James F. Jordan 1906-1912: Burgess E. Jones 1912-1932: David B. Stafford 1932-1942: Joe S. Phipps 1942-1945: John C. Story 1945-1962: John E. Walters 1962-1966: Clayton H. Jones 1966-1982: Paul H. Gibson 1982-1986: James L. Proffitt 1986-present: Walter A. Burch

Source: Sheriff's Department

Be the first to know

* I understand and agree that registration on or use of this site constitutes agreement to its user agreement and privacy policy.

Related to this story

Most Popular

Get up-to-the-minute news sent straight to your device.


Breaking News