Skip to main contentSkip to main content

    Zia Cooke scored 21 points and Aliyah Boston had her 81st career double double as top-seeded South Carolina recovered from a slow start to power past eighth-seeded South Florida and move into the Sweet 16 with a 76-45 victory Sunday. Plus more second round NCAA Tournament game action from Sunday.

    STANFORD, Calif. (AP) — Madison Scott hit a pair of free throws with 23 seconds left that gave Mississippi the lead for good, Angel Baker scored 13 points, and the Rebels delivered on their declaration to get defensive, stunning top-seeded Stanford 54-49 on Sunday night to reach the NCAA Tournament’s Sweet 16 for the first time in 16 years.

      Kirsten Simms scored a goal and Cami Kronish had 31 saves to help Wisconsin beat top-seeded and defending NCAA champion Ohio State 1-0, earning the Badgers their record seventh national title. Simms hid behind Ohio State’s Lauren Bernard in front of the net a flicked a wrister into the net to give Wisconsin a 1-0 lead at 13:28 of the first period. Wisconsin has won three of the last four national championships. Kronish, who had 37 saves in the Badgers’ 3-2 overtime win over No. 2 seed Minnesota in the semifinals, was named the Frozen Four’s most outstanding player. Ohio State, which went into the game having scored multiple goals in every game but one this season, was shut out for the first time in 57 games.


      Kansas’ national title defense ended in the second round of NCAA Tournament when Arkansas’ Ricky Council IV made five free throws in the closing seconds and the eighth-seeded Razorbacks beat the No. 1 seed Jayhawks 72-71. Davonte Davis scored 25 points and Council added 21 as Arkansas rallied from a 12-point second-half deficit. Plus more March Madness action from Saturday.

      Penn State’s Aaron Brooks and Carter Starocci each won their third consecutive individual titles to help the Nittany Lions to back-to-back team crowns, and Cornell’s Yianni Diakomihalis won his fourth title at the NCAA wrestling championships. Brooks beat Northern Iowa’s Parker Keckeisen 7-2 in the 184-pound finals and Starocci pinned Mikey Labriola of Nebraska in the first round at 174. Diakomihalis beat Ohio State’s Sammy Sasso 4-2 to win the 149-pound crown.

      Get up-to-the-minute news sent straight to your device.


      Breaking News

      News Alert